h1

Decisions, decisions…

September 1, 2010

Recently I had to make a tough decision.  Like in any other crucial moment of decision, I found myself turning inward, analyzing my feelings, my options, weighing the importance of issues at hand, thinking about alternatives and their possible outcomes, talking with important people in my life to get their opinions,  etc.  I had to ask myself some powerful questions similar to those that I ask my coachees, be true to myself  and come up with my own answers. I must say that I felt a huge burden on my shoulders.  Each time a friend asked me whether I had made my decision or not, I felt a knot in my stomach. The pressure was on. I did not want to base my decision on my fears since I think those type of decisions tend to be pretty disastrous! So, I opted to be brave. There, one morning I made my decision. I literally heard the whooshing sound of  the arrow leaving the bow! Wow, what a load off when you feel that you’ve finally made up your mind and that you’re ready to face the consequences of your decision.

I guess the real reason why decision-making is so dreadful is the fact that you don’t want to make a decision that you would repent later on. Living with regrets would be a terrible thing! Regretting something makes you suffer, steals away all your positive energy and makes you weak.  Deep inside, you know you should avoid that suffering feeling, so, you want to make the “right” decision.  But is there really a “right” decision?  For me there are only “appropriate” decisions that one makes given the circumstances at any moment of time and given one’s attitude toward risk-taking. No one has a crystal ball to predict the future. We can only do what we believe is best, accept life as a wonderful mystery and adapt to what it presents to us as we go along.

By now, you must have noticed that I love poetry, so I thought this was the perfect opportunity to share with you one of my favorite poems by Robert Frost. It really resonates with me and conveys the way I feel about most of my decisions and the mystery of life. Hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

The Road Less Travelled

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth.

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same.

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I–
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

2 comments

  1. Güley, you really have a beautiful way with words. I truly enjoy reading your postings. Keep on writing, you do it so well!!!


    • Thank you!!!



Leave a Reply

